# **Cheltenham Borough Council**

# Council - 20 May, 2024

# **Appointment of Honorary Aldermen**

### Accountable member:

Not applicable

#### Accountable officer:

Chief Executive – Gareth Edmundson

### Ward(s) affected:

None directly

Key Decision: No

#### **Executive summary:**

Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who it considers have rendered eminent services to the Authority in their past roles as councillors.

Historically, Council has conferred the title of Honorary Alderman upon its past members in recognition of both long service and significant contribution to the Authority's affairs.

The longstanding local criteria which has been applied when conferring the title of Honorary Alderman is that the person has at least 16 years' service or is a past Mayor and Chair of the Council.

A number of former Councillors fall within the criteria and have been nominated by Group Leaders.

Once agreed by Council, their appointments will be recognised as part of the Inauguration of the Mayor ceremony at the Town Hall on Monday 20 May 2024.

#### Recommendations:

1. Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Matt Babbage, Nigel Britter, Bernard Fisher, Wendy Flynn and Diggory Seacome.

### 1. Implications

#### 1.1 Financial, Property and Asset implications

None.

#### 1.2 Legal implications

Full Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of Council, rendered eminent services to the Authority as past members of the Authority but who are not then members of the Authority.

In accordance with section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 the decision to confer the title must be passed at a meeting specially convened for the purpose and by not less than two-thirds of the members voting thereon.

An Honorary Alderman may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the Authority may from time to time decide but, as such, has no right to: attend meetings of Council, Cabinet or Committee other than as a member of the public, receive any of the allowances or other payments to which councillors are entitled.

**Signed off by:** Claire Hughes, Director of Governance and Customer Services (Monitoring Officer)

#### 2 Background

2.1 The following former Councillors have been nominated for the position:

Former Councillors	Previous Mayor of Cheltenham	Service Record
Matt Babbage	2023-24	Represented Battledown Ward 2014-24
Nigel Britter		Represented Benhall & The Reddings 2002-24
Bernard Fisher	2018-19	Represented Swindon Village 2008-24
Wendy Flynn	2013-14	Represented Hester's Way 2002-24
Diggory Seacome		Represented Lansdown 2000-24

#### 3 Reasons for recommendations

3.1 Historically, Council has conferred the title of Honorary Alderman upon its past members in recognition of both long service and significant contribution to the Authority's affairs.

## 4 Alternative options considered

4.1 Not applicable.

### 5 Consultation and feedback

5.1 The nominations have been discussed by Group Leaders.

## 6 Key risks

6.1 None identified.

## Report author:

Bev Thomas, Democratic Services Team Leader

bev.thomas@cheltenham.gov.uk 01242 264 246